The Chocolate Factory Theater is an artist-centered organization, built by and for artists. Co-founders Sheila Lewandowski and Brian Rogers began making work together in 1995 and quickly saw the need for a creative home to support their work and the work of fellow experimental performance-based artists. The Chocolate Factory therefore has grown and developed within and through a creative process that centers the development of new work, as guided by makers.

Mission & History

Staff & Board

Board of Trustees


Michael Reardon

Graphic Design

Juli Brandano

Front of House

Lydia Sloan

Front of House

Peter Richards

House Videographer

Shana Crawford

Technical Director

Lillie De


Ben Demarest


Sophie Sotsky


Pamela M. Golinski, Esq.

Legal Counsel


Lily Auchincloss Foundation
Harkness Foundation
The Henry Luce Foundation, the Willem de Kooning Foundation, and Teiger Foundation through the Coalition of Small Arts New York
New York Community Trust
New York State Parks
NYC Council Majority Leader Jimmy Van Bramer
NYS Assemblywoman Catherine T. Nolan
The Chocolate Factory Theater Trustees
The McGue Millhiser Trust

Mental Insight Foundation
Mertz Gilmore Foundation
Robert Rauschenberg Foundation
Carl and Laurie Rogers
Select Equity Group Foundation
Shubert Foundation
Emma A. Sheafer Charitable Trust
Shine Electronics
The Trust for Mutual Understanding

For a copy of our most recent audited financial statement and 990, download here.

Space & Technical

Download an inventory here.
Download a floor plan here.

Download Vectorworks drawings of our lighting grid here.
Please direct all technical and space-related questions to Madeline Best.